Lock template for editing
Who is this article for?
Administrators who want to learn more about how a questionnaire template is locked for editing.
This articles explains the locked for edit feature. You will learn how to lock a template for editing, how to unlock it, and how a model administrator can override a lock.
This feature is available from Ideagen Healthcare Guardian v26.0.0.
Locked for edit
From Ideagen Healthcare Guardian v26.0.0 onwards, whenever a questionnaire template is open for editing, that means it is locked for other users. This prevents two or more users accidentally overwriting each others' changes.
When you open a questionnaire template in admin, you will see a blue banner advising that you have the template locked.
If another user opens the same template, they will see a yellow banner informing them they cannot edit it because you already have the template locked. It will show them the name of the user editing the template, and when the lock was placed. They can still view the saved template.
Releasing a lock
When you have finished editing the template, save your changes and navigate away from that page. This will release the lock so that others can edit it.
If you close the browser window, log out of Ideagen Healthcare Guardian, or your machine crashes, you may not realise you still have the template locked. In this circumstance, another user wanting to edit the template may contact you asking to release the lock - or they can request a model administrator to unlock the template for them.
Admin override
If you want to edit a template, but it is locked by another user, first reach out to that person - have they completed their work? If they cannot be contacted, or have completed their edits, but the lock remains, you can request one of your site's model administrators to release the lock for you. Only do this if you are confident you will not overwrite your colleague's unsaved work.
A model administrator can navigate to Model > Locks, and search for the user who has the template locked.
Select the user's name, and you will see a list of all locks that user currently has in place.
Click 'Clear All' to unlock them.